It’s Thursday Mownin’

Yep, like the title says. It’s Thursday morning and I’ve yet to go to sleep. It seems I’ve gotten into an even weirder sleep pattern. I stay up all night, through the morning rendering me a tad groggy all day until I then go to bed early like a normal person, wake up around 9AM or so the next morning. This will definitely have to stop once I get a 9-5 again.

Speaking of which, what’s the deal with Florida and it’s lack of Graphic Design jobs? Britta did some searches on Careerbuilder in Minneapolis and she found a TON of jobs, ones that paid alot more than what they’re offering here in So-Flo. Eh, I honestly feel we (Graphic Designers) are grossly underpaid to begin with and then to have a scarce job market makes it even worse. See heres the dilema, I’d love more than anything to get the heck out of Florida. I hate it. The weather is cool for old people but I’ve gotta have some sort of climate change! The traffic is just as bad as in Manhattan and you’ve got a million illegal immigrants running around speaking some other language that I can’t understand if my life depended on it. But, without some cash I’ll be stuck here.

Well, that leads once again to me getting a good job while keeping up freelance would probably be a good idea as well. If Jay can keep these small web design jobs coming in and this deal with the Smirnoff guys goes well I could get a good chunk of my income from freelance alone however I just can’t rely solely on it. As I’ve seen in the past, freelance design can be huge and then all of the sudden drop off the face of the Earth. In other words, it’s not consistant.

So, I’m going to consider a “Non-Design” job, something close to home where I don’t have the dreadful commute and then I can come home, do some freelance work and then play WoW at night all while having a normal sleep schedule.

Let’s see if I can do it.


About this entry